British Open 2021 tee times, TV coverage, live stream & more to watch Thursday’s Round 1

British Open 2021 tee times, TV coverage, live stream & more to watch Thursday’s Round 1

After a yearlong hiatus, The Open Championship will be played once again.

The COVID-19 pandemic caused the major golf event to be canceled in 2020, but the 2021 British Open will go on. That means reigning champion Shane Lowry will finally have a chance to defend his lone major championship.

Lowry’s competition will be stiff as usual. World No. 1 Jon Rahm will be looking to back up his first major win at the U.S. Open with another strong showing, and 18 of the other top 20 golfers in the world will join him. The lone non-participant of the group will be Hideki Matsuyama, who tested positive for COVID-19.

Among those top golfers, Bryson DeChambeau will be one to watch, as he is playing his first tournament with a new caddie on the bag. DeChambeau had a publicized breakup with his previous caddie Tim Tucker ahead of the Rocket Mortgage Classic in Detroit.

And of course, DeChambeau’s rival Brooks Koepka will be in action, so it will be interesting to see if the two continue their longstanding beef.

Surely, there are plenty of reasons to watch the British Open at Royal St George’s golf course. Here’s everything you need to know about the event, including every way to watch it.

MORE: Watch the U.S. Open live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Watch the British Open live

Golf Channel and NBC will split live coverage of the 2021 British Open just as they did for the 2021 U.S. Open. Golf Channel will exclusively air the first two rounds of the tournament with NBC taking over for most of the weekend coverage on Saturday and Sunday.

British Open TV schedule 2021

DateTime (ET)TV Channel
Thursday, June 174 a.m. – 3 p.m.Golf Channel, fuboTV
Friday, June 184 a.m. – 3 p.m.Golf Channel, fuboTV
Saturday, June 195 a.m. – 7 a.m.Golf Channel, fuboTV
 7 a.m. – 3 p.m.NBC, fuboTV
Sunday, June 204 a.m. – 7 a.m.Golf Channel, fuboTV
 7 a.m. – 2 p.m.NBC, fuboTV

British Open streaming schedule

The 2021 British Open will primarily be streamed on Peacock and Peacock Premium, both of which are NBC affiliates. Peacock will largely provide coverage of featured groups and featured holes while Peacock Premium will offer simulcasts of the Golf Channel and NBC broadcasts. Another option is fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial.


DateTime (ET)Coverage
Thursday, June 173 a.m. – 3 p.m.Featured Groups
 5:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.Featured Holes (14-16)
Friday, June 183 a.m. – 3 p.m.Featured Groups
 5:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.Featured Holes (14-16)
Saturday, June 196 a.m. – 2 p.m.Featured Groups
 7 a.m. – 1 p.m.Featured Holes (14-16)
Sunday, June 205 a.m. – 1 p.m.Featured Groups
 6 a.m. – 12 p.m.Featured Holes (14-16)

Peacock Premium

DateTime (ET)Coverage
Thursday, June 171:30 a.m. – 4 a.m.Day 1 live coverage
 4 a.m. – 3 p.m.Golf Channel Round 1 simulcast
 3 p.m. – 4 p.m.Day 1 live coverage
Friday, June 181:30 a.m. – 4 a.m.Day 2 live coverage
 4 a.m. – 3 p.m.Golf Channel Round 2 simulcast
 3 p.m. – 4 p.m.Day 2 live coverage
Saturday, June 195 a.m. – 7 a.m.Golf Channel Round 3 simulcast
 7 a.m. – 3 p.m.NBC Round 3 simulcast
Sunday, June 204 a.m. – 7 a.m.Golf Channel Round 4 simulcast
 7 a.m. – 2 p.m.NBC Round 4 simulcast

British Open tee times 2021

Tee times for The Open Championship will be updated when they are announced.

British Open purse 2021

The 2021 British Open will feature the largest purse in the history of the tournament. The total amount of prize money doled out will be $11.5 million, up from $10.5 million in 2019.

The winner will take home $2.07 million, marking the first time The Open will give a prize larger than $2 million. The 2019 winner, Shane Lowry, made $1.935 million.

British Open odds for 2021

Jon Rahm (+700) is heavily favored to win The Open Championship after winning his first major at the U.S. Open last month. That means a $100 bet placed on Rahm would result in a $700 payout.

Jordan Spieth (+1400), Rory McIlroy (+1400), Dustin Johnson (+1800), Xander Schauffele (+1800) and Brooks Koepka (+1800) round out the top six favorites, per odds from DraftKings Sportsbook.

Jon Rahm+700
Jordan Spieth+1400
Rory McIlroy+1400
Dustin Johnson+1800
Xander Schauffele+1800
Brooks Koepka+1800
Justin Thomas+2000
Louis Oosthuizen+2500
Collin Morikawa+2500
Bryson DeChambeau+3000
Viktor Hovland+3000
Paul Casey+3500
Shane Lowry+4000
Patrick Reed+4000
Tyrell Hatton+4000
Tommy Fleetwood+4000
Patrick Cantlay+4000
Matthew Fitzpatrick+4500
Tony Finau+4500
Lee Westwood+4500
Daniel Berger+4500
Adam Scott+5000
Abraham Ancer+5000
Scottie Scheffler+5000
Webb Simpson+5500
Cameron Smith+6000
Justin Rose+6000
Harris English+6000

Where is the British Open in 2021?

The 2021 British Open will return to Royal St George’s golf course for the first time since 2011. The course is located in Sandwich, England and has hosted The Open Championship 14 times.

  • Par: 70
  • Distance: 7,204 yards

British Open past winners

Here is a look at every winner of The Open Championship since World War II. Shane Lowry is the most recent winner of the major in 2019. The 2020 event was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2019Shane LowryRoyal Portrush-15
2018Francesco MolinariCarnoustie-8
2017Jordan SpiethRoyal Birkdale-12
2016Henrik StensonRoyal Troon-20
2015Zach JohnsonSt Andrews-15
2014Rory McIlroyHoylake-17
2013Phil MickelsonMuirfield-3
2012Ernie ElsRoyal Lytham & St Annes-7
2011Darren ClarkeRoyal St George’s-5
2010Louis OosthuizenSt Andrews-16
2009Stewart CinkTurnberry-2
2008Padraig HarringtonRoyal Birkdale+3
2007Padraig HarringtonCarnoustie-7
2006Tiger WoodsRoyal Liverpool-18
2005Tiger WoodsSt Andrews-14
2004Todd HamiltonTroon-10
2003Ben CurtisSandwich-1
2002Ernie ElsMuirfield-6
2001David DuvalRoyal Lytham & St Annes-10
2000Tiger WoodsSt Andrews-19
1999Paul LawrieCarnoustie+6
1998Mark O’MearaRoyal BirkdaleE
1997Justin LeonardRoyal Troon-12
1996Tom LehmanRoyal Lytham & St Annes-13
1995John DalySt Andrews-6
1994Nick PriceTurnberry-12
1993Greg NormanRoyal St Georges, Sandwich-13
1992Nick FaldoMuirfield-12
1991Ian Baker-FinchRoyal Birkdale-8
1990Nick FaldoSt Andrews-18
1989Mark CalcavecchiaRoyal Troon-13
1988Seve BallesterosRoyal Lytham & St Annes-11
1987Nick FaldoMuirfield-5
1986Greg NormanTurnberryE
1985Sandy LyleRoyal St Georges, Sandwich+2
1984Seve BallesterosSt Andrews-12
1983Tom WatsonRoyal Birkdale-9
1982Tom WatsonRoyal Troon-4
1981Bill RogersRoyal St Georges, Sandwich-4
1980Tom WatsonMuirfield-13
1979Seve BallesterosRoyal Lytham & St Annes-1
1978Jack NicklausSt Andrews-7
1977Tom WatsonTurnberry-12
1976Johnny MillerRoyal Birkdale-9
1975Tom WatsonCarnoustie-5
1974Gary PlayerRoyal Lytham & St Annes-2
1973Tom WeiskopfRoyal Troon-12
1972Lee TrevinoMuirfield-6
1971Lee TrevinoRoyal Birkdale-10
1970Jack NicklausSt Andrews283
1969Tony JacklinRoyal Lytham & St Annes280
1968Gary PlayerCarnoustie289
1967Roberto de VicenzoHoylake278
1966Jack NicklausMuirfield282
1965Peter ThomsonRoyal Birkdale285
1964Tony LemaSt Andrews279
1963Bob CharlesRoyal Lytham & St Annes277
1962Arnold PalmerTroon276
1961Arnold PalmerBirkdale284
1960Kel NagleSt Andrews278
1959Gary PlayerMuirfield284
1958Peter ThomsonRoyal Lytham & St Annes278
1957Bobby LockeSt Andrews279
1956Peter ThomsonHoylake286
1955Peter ThomsonSt Andrews281
1954Peter ThomsonBirkdale283
1953Ben HoganCarnoustie282
1952Bobby LockeRoyal Lytham & St Annes287
1951Max FaulknerRoyal Portrush285
1950Bobby LockeTroon279
1949Bobby LockeSandwich283
1948Henry CottonMuirfield284
1947F DalyHoylake293
1946Sam SneadSt Andrews290



Leave a Reply

Close Menu